Subsection 10.—Yukon and the Northwest Territories

Yukon.—The Yukon Act provides for a local government composed of a Chief Executive styled Commissioner but classified as Controller, who is appointed by the Governor-General in Council; also an elective Legislative Council of three members having a three-year tenure of office. The Yukon Territorial Council performs much the same functions as do the Provincial Governments. The Controller functions in lieu of the Provincial Cabinet and the three members of the Territorial Council function in lieu of the Provincial Parliament. The seat of local government is at Dawson, but the Controller acts under instructions from the Governor-General in Council or the Minister of Mines and Resources at Ottawa.

The present Controller is John Edward Gibben, appointed Sept. 13, 1947, and the Members of the Territorial Council are: Dawson District, John R. Fraser; Whitehorse District, R. Gordon Lee; and Mayo District, Ernest J. Corp. The Commissioners who held office previous to the present are listed at p. 78 of the 1946 Year Book.

Northwest Territories.—The Government of the Northwest Territories is vested in a Commissioner, assisted by a Council composed of six members all of whom are appointed by the Governor-General in Council. The administration of the various Acts, Ordinances, and Regulations pertaining to the Northwest Territories is supervised by the Director of the Lands and Development Services Branch, Department of Mines and Resources, who is also Deputy Commissioner. The seat of government is at Ottawa.

The present Territorial Council is composed of the following: Commissioner, Hugh L. Keenleyside; Deputy Commissioner, Roy Alexander Gibson; Members, Robert Alexander Hoey, Stuart Taylor Wood, John G. McNiven, Louis de la C. Audette, and Harold B. Godwin; Secretary, James Goldwin Wright.

Section 3.—Dominion-Provincial Relations*

The genesis of the current phase of Dominion-Provincial relations was the Dominion-Provincial Conference of December, 1936. At that time drought and depressed prices had led the Government of Alberta into partial default on its outstanding debt, and the Governments of Saskatchewan and Manitoba made clear at the Conference that in default of assistance they would be forced to take similar On the invitation of the Dominion Minister of Finance and the Premiers of the three Prairie Provinces, the Bank of Canada undertook an examination of The Bank's report on Manitoba was made public on their financial positions. Feb. 15, on Saskatchewan on Mar. 15, and on Alberta on Apr. 7, 1937. Report recommended certain interim financial assistance from the Dominion Government but concluded that no solution seemed possible other than that which might be provided by a complete inquiry into the financial powers and responsibilities of Canadian governing bodies at all levels. In addition to the special difficulties of the Prairie Provinces, the burden of relief had weakened the financial position of all provincial and municipal governments, and had finally proved completely beyond their capacity to bear in its entirety.

^{*} Prepared by D. A. Skelton, Research Adviser, Bank of Canada, Ottawa.